Habitat for Humanity Benefit

On January 24th, at the All Saints Anglican Church, in Collingwood, join in on a spectacular performance of two of the greatest viola sonatas ever written!

Henry Janzen on viola and Robert Hall on piano will present the Brahms Sonata in F Minor and the Mendelssohn Sonata. The Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5 was written by Johannes Brahms in 1853 and published the following year. For those of you who don’t already know, the sonata is unusually large, consisting of five movements, as opposed to the traditional three or four. 

The next viola performance was composed when Felix Mendelssohn was only 15 years old. The autograph score is dated on the 14th of February, in 1824. For the time, a viola sonata was rare and there are still very few Classical or early Romantic viola sonatas.

Be the first to hear such a magnificent piece of history and two musical masterpieces sure to ‘write home about’! Also featured in the program will be Dancing Strings by Canadian composer Marjan Mozetich and Morpheus by British composer Rebecca Clarke.

The Sound Investment Community Choir will be hosting this one-of-a-kind event, with proceeds going to Habitat for Humanity South Georgian Bay, as well as the choir. Tickets are $15 & are available at Crows Nest Books and the Habitat for Humanity Restore, Collingwood IDA Pharmacy, Wasaga Beach Curiosity Books, Creemore & JACS Health Foods, Stayner. For more info contact Jill @ 705.293.0573.

A Benefit Recital of Piano & Viola Classics


Saturday, January 24, 2015





All Saints Anglican - 32 Elgin Street, Collingwood


Contact: www.soundinvestmentchoir.ca 


News provided by Century 21 Millennium.   Plan your real estate career with us.

Martin Minda

Martin Minda

CENTURY 21 Millennium Inc., Brokerage*
Contact Me

Blog Archives