Oakville honours veterans at Cenotaph addition

 

On June 18, 2010 at 11am, local Veterans, former Oakville Mayor Harry Barrett and hundreds of members of the public gathered in George's Square at official dedication ceremony for the new Veteran's Memorial addition at George's Square Memorial and Cenotaph.  http://www.oakville.com/articles/georges-square-veterans-memorial-dedication/

 
The Town of Oakville is a beautiful lakeside town with a strong sense of history, preserved and celebrated by residents and visitors alike. Founded in 1857, with a current population of 165,000 and ideally located in a beautiful natural setting, Oakville offers first-rate facilities and amenities. Oakville offers a small town feeling with all of the outstanding range of lifestyle choices which make it a community in which residents and businesses feel a sense of pride and connection.

  • Wonderful, quiet, safe, family friendly neighbourhoods
  • Quality schools, both private and public
  • A full-service acute care community hospital
  • Proximity to Lake Ontario and recreational areas
  • Easy access via QEW, 403, 407 and GO Transit
  • Charming shopping districts in the downtown core
  • 30-minute from downtown Toronto
  • 1-hour drive to U.S. border
  • Small town ambiance
  • Historical centre featuring 19th century buildings which accommodate over 400 fine shops, services and restaurants
  • Theatre, dance, music and comedy performances at the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
  • Museum at Erchless Estate, located in the home of the Chisholms, Oakville's founding family
  • Galleries, historical sites, street festivals including the Oakville Jazz Festival 
  • Seven golf courses, including Glen Abbey Golf Course, home of the Canadian Open
  • 2,400 acres of park space, many with groomed hiking trails
  • Multiple full service recreation centres
  • Two picturesque harbours with docks and slips for sail and powerboats
  • Above average household income

Town of Oakville: www.oakville.ca
Oakville Calendar: http://www.opl.on.ca/programs/events
Oakville Parks: http://www.oakville.ca/parksrec.htm
Oakville Centre: http://www.oakvillecentre.ca/
Oakville Galleries: http://www.oakvillegalleries.com/
Oakville Museum: http://www.oakvillemuseum.ca/
Oakville Library: http://www.opl.on.ca/
Oakville Transit: http://www.oakvilletransit.ca/
Oakville Council: http://www.oakville.ca/calendar/council/
Oakville Tourism: http://www.oakvilletourism.ca/
Oakville Trails: http://www.oakvilletrails.ca/

 

Blog Archives

Tags