Regional chamber recognizes top achievers in Atlantic Canada

The Nova Scotia Business Journal

Summerside, P.E.I. - The accomplishments over the past year of some of Atlantic Canada's top chambers of commerce, boards of trade, and their volunteers were recognized at a ceremony held May 24 in Summerside, P.E.I. At a Saturday evening gala dinner held at Credit Union Place, chambers, boards of trade, and volunteers received awards for their hard work and dedication over the last year. The presentations concluded the Atlantic Provinces Chambers of Commerce (APCC) annual general meeting and conference.

Nancy Thorne of the Saint John Board of Trade received The Harvey Webber Commemorative Award, presented each year to a volunteer who has made a unique contribution to his or her community chamber or board of trade, thereby enhancing the chamber of commerce movement in that province and in the region. Ms. Thorne was recognized for her dedication, combined with her participation in forming the Access Atlantica group and serving as its Canadian co-chair.

The annual Chair's Award for chambers with less than 200 members went to the Labrador North Chamber of Commerce, which also won in 2004. This award is presented to a smaller community chamber or board of trade in recognition of outstanding service to its community during the past year. The Fredericton Chamber of Commerce was the recipient of the Chair's Award for over 200 members for its outstanding community service. This is the Fredericton chamber's fourth consecutive win in this category, and the seventh overall with past wins in 1999, 2001, and 2003.

The uniquely named Golden Chamber Pot Award is presented annually by Progress Corp Magazine to a chamber of commerce or board of trade to recognize the greatest sustained growth over a three-year interval. For its accomplishments, the Chambre de commerce de Cap-Pelé/Beaubassin-est Inc. received the coveted Golden Chamber Pot and a check for $1000 from Progress.

Concluding the awards ceremony was a special presentation by APCC to its outgoing leader and chair for 2007-2008, Jonathan Daniels.  For his tireless efforts, sharp insight, and strong drive, Mr. Daniels was awarded the Chair's Gavel and Governor's silver lapel pin. It was the first time in APCC's 112-year history an American citizen was at the organization's helm.

Incoming chair for APCC is David Hooley, Q.C., a partner in the law firm Cox & Palmer, Charlottetown, P.E.I. A longtime chamber volunteer, Mr. Hooley is a past president of the Greater Charlottetown Area Chamber of Commerce, past president of the P.E.I. Chamber of Commerce, and a past director of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce. Representing over 16,000 businesses, the Atlantic Provinces Chambers of Commerce is an alliance of more than 100 local chambers of commerce and boards of trade across Atlantic Canada. - Daily Business Buzz

Nancy Thorne

Nancy Thorne

CENTURY 21 River-Valley Realty Ltd.
Contact Me

Blog Archives