Masters golf facts

Golf fans everywhere are looking forward to the first major of the year; the Masters. One thing that makes the Masters unique when compared to the other 3 major golf tournaments is that it has been played on the same course every year since its inception in 1934, under its original title; the Augusta National Invitation Tournament.

Check out these other facts about the Masters. Did j'a know;

  • The 14th hole at Augusta National is the only hole that has no bunkers.
  • Fuzzy Zoeller won the first sudden-death playoff at the Masters in 1979.
  • The first European to win the Masters was Seve Ballesteros (Spain) in 1980.
  • Before it became a golf course, the lands that are now Augusta National Golf Club were a tree nursery.
  • In 1961, Gary Player (South Africa) became the first international player to win the Masters.
  • Unlucky Tom Weiskopf once made a 13 on the par-3 12th hole - the shortest hole at Augusta National.
  • Next to the US, South Africa has produced the most Masters champions; Gary Player, Trevor Immelman, Charl Schwartzel.
  • The first year the Masters was played was the only year that they used what is now the back nine as the front nine and vise versa.
  • In 2003, Mike Weir became the first Canadian and the first ‘leftie' to win The Masters.

Blog Archives